Southern Tier Sports Report
SOUTHPORT — Notre Dame held their end of the season awards at a Notre Dame awards night and Rachael Simpson and Owen Stewart brought home athlete of the year honors.

Simpson was the Sal & Elizabeth Salafia Female Athlete of the Year and Stewart was the Ray Gavigan Male Athlete of the Year.

The Katie Cain Female Scholar Athlete of the year was Riley Soehnlein and the Male Scholar Athlete of the Year was Billy Alley.

The Francis ‘Junker Johnston Contribution Award winner was Tom Gough and Joe Mustico won the Father Michael Reagan Accomplishment Award. The Pat Quinn Courage and Commitment Award went to Rachel Tsang.

Caroline Viselli and Steven Gough each won the John and Virginia Mirando Memorial Award and Isabella O’Toole and Grant Crossley each won the Charles L. Brady Memorial Award.

Stewart, Sean Franzese, Erin Connolly and Emmalie Barkley were the Joel Andrew Stephens Five ‘C’ Award winners.

Amanda Simpson won the Steve Bednarek Most Improved Female Athlete Award and Eric Bukowinski won the Fran Essen Most Improved Male Athlete of the Year Award.

Tyler Richards won the Wayne Moschetti Memorial Award and Griffin English won the E.J. Brewer Marine Award Detachment Award.

Richards won the Peter Mehalick Courage Award and Malik Marshall won the Joe Dwyer Lineman of the year award.

Logan Meisner won the Biagio A. Maio Defensive Lineman Award, while the Paul Margeson Phoenix Memorial Award went to Neal Moore.

Piper Young won the Molly Huddle Determination and Dedication Award, while Paige Harvey won the Frank Gush Leadership & Integrity award and Jacob Steed won the Jack Flynn. Mike Johnston Sr. won the Mike D’Aloisio Coach of the Year Award.

The girls’ basketball MVP was Shannon Maloney, while Allie O’Brien won the Mike Tobin Most Improved Player Award, while Maddy Fargo won the coaches award. For the boys Steven Gough was MVP, Malaki Owens won the Mike Tobin Award and Sean Franzese won the coaches award.

For girls bowling Jade Nordin was MVP, Makayla Buchanan was most improved and Erin Connolly won the coaches’ award. For the boys Ashton Colunio won MVP, Alley won most improved and Connor Ryan won the coaches award.

For girls’ indoor track Makenna Keough was MVP, Amanda Simpson most improved and Piper Young won the coaches award and for boys it was Tyler Simpson winning MVP and most improved and Derek Simpson won the coaches’ award.

Young won the girls’ cross country MVP, Maura Devlin won most improved and Isabella Mashewske was the coaches’ award winner and for the boys Derek Simpson won MVP and Neal Moore was most improved.

Rachael Simpson and Maloney shared MVP honors for girls’ soccer, while Ava Mustico and Mega Agan won the Delores ‘Dee’ Batterson Memorial Award, while the coaches’ award went to Makenna Keough.

For the boys Tyler Simpson was MVP, Jackson Potter won the Delores ‘Dee’ Batterson Memorial Award and Franzese won the coaches award.

For swimming O’Brien was MVP, Hannah Gonzalez was the most improved and Nina Harrison was the coaches’ award winner.

Bukowinski was MVP for football, Ayden Bellamy was most improved and the coaches’ award winner was Dylan Clark.

Potter was the MVP for golf, Dylan O’Toole was most improved and Evelyn Wheeler was the coaches’ award winner.

Stewart won baseball MVP and Logan Meisner won the Robert Zeis Memorial Most Improved Athlete Award, while Nick Lisi won the coaches award.

Olivia Switzer and Lawson Bigelow won the softball co-MVP awards and Payton Miller was the Robert Zeis Memorial Award Winner, while Madison Gleason won the coaches’ award.

Derek Simpson won boys’ outdoor track and field MVP and Tyler Simpson was most improved, while Moore was the coaches’ award winner, for the girls Keough won MVP, Claire Devlin was most improved and Amanda Simpson and Ellie Green won the coaches award.

For tennis Tsang won the MVP and The Sister Mary Beatrice Most Improved Player Awards went to Divye Agrawal and Elizabeth Kraeger, while Emmalie Barkley was the coaches’ award winner.

For lacrosse Grant Crossley was MVP, Ayden Bellamy was most improved and Franzese was the coaches’ award winner.